---
title: How to Calculate Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)
description: Customer Lifetime Value (amount of profit or revenue a customer generates in their lifetime) is key to measuring the profitability of a business.
image: https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/hs-fs/hub/211174/file-1301228897.jpg
---

[![](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/hs-fs/hubfs/DSM-Logo.png?width=270&height=125&name=DSM-Logo.png)](https://www.thedsmgroup.com)

- [Blog](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog)

# Blog

## How to Calculate Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)

by [Luke](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/author/luke), on 9:48 AM on July 23, 2014

![How to Calculate Customer Lifetime Value](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/hs-fs/hub/211174/file-1301228897.jpg "How to Calculate Customer Lifetime Value")Customer Lifetime Value (the amount of profit or revenue a customer generates in their lifetime or a fiscal period) is one of the most important things your company can calculate.

But here's the problem: There is no one sure-fire way to calculate. There are hundreds of different formulas out there ranging in complexity to fit everyone's needs. Don't worry, [we're here to help](http://www.thedsmgroup.com/beer).

The key to CLV is calculating averages. Now, to be honest, my math skills aren't that great and if I get too technical, it will be confusing. So here's a few examples that are simple, easy and most importantly, logical. Also if you could not tell my calculus teacher about my math skills, that would be great too! 

## Example 1: The Dentist

Suppose you're a dentist. You probably have each customer come in 2-4 times a year for a cleaning, and for other procedures (like fillings, root canals, etc.) the CLV is variable, depending on each patient. A simple CLV would be calculated as: 

Average length of the relationship: 10 years

Average cost per procedure: $80 

Average visits per year: 3 times 

Customer Lifetime Value = 10 x 80 x 3 = $2400 

Thus the lifetime value of a customer for the next 10 years, would be $2400. You can then multiply this by the number of customers you have to see what the lifetime value of your customer base is for the next 10 years. 

## Example 2: Golf Club

[Our team](http://www.thedsmgroup.com/our-team) loves golf, so this one is right up our alley. A golf club is another good example for CLV because of the memberships they offer. Let's say this golf club also offers a store to buy or rent clubs, balls and whatever other items a member may need, added to the membership cost. 

Average Membership Cost (per year): $6,245

Average length of relationship: 20 years

Average visits per year: 35 times 

Customer Lifetime Value = (6,245 x 20) / 35 = $3,569 per customer

Here, since we have the amount of membership cost for a year, we divide it by the average number of times visited during that year. As you can see, this can start to get real tricky real fast. Luckily we've got two more examples just in case!

## Example 3: Barbershop

Gotta be honest here, I'm in desperate need of a haircut, which is why I chose a barbershop. Also I don't know all the in's and out's of a salon (even after having my coworkers tell me) but both can be calculated in the same way. 

Average haircut cost: $16

Average visits per year: 4 times 

Average length of relationship: 15 years 

Customer Lifetime Value = 16 x 4 x 15 = $960 per customer

Over the next 15 years, the customer lifetime value would be $960 per customer. Say you have about 400 customers per year, then the LTV over the net 15 years (not taking expansion into consideration), would be $384,000.

## Example 4: Landscaping Business

We're in the full swing of summer right now, so naturally, landscaping is at an all-time high. But how exactly do these businesses (whose owners only spend half the year here) keep the same customers? By the lifetime customers that come back every year. 

Most people who use a landscaping business (If you don't, I feel your pain and if it makes you feel any better I've got bushes and hedges to do when I get home) have a weekly appointment. 

Average cost of all services (let's keep it strictly maitenance): $150 per hour

Average hours per week: 2 hours

Average length of relationship (for the summer): 12 weeks

Average length of relationship: 5 years

Customer Lifetime Value: 150 x 2 x 12 x 5 = $18,000 per customer for next five years

## Keep in Mind

Now this of course is a ballpark estimate. But by using this logic and enacting averages into these calculations, we can get an idea of what the lifetime value of a business' customers are for a certain time period. 

Of course different people like different things. Some people use complex formulas, others go even more simple than this. For the purpose of understanding the basics of CLV and seeing how much value in profit or revenue a customer brings to a business, these are some situations and methods to guide anyone in learning CLV.

Do you have a different way of calculating CLV? Did you find this helpful?

Let us know in the comments below!

 

Topics: [Marketing](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/marketing)

### About this blog

This is where you give the visitor a brief introduction to both this blog and your company. Keep the intro pithy and punchy.

### Subscribe to Email Updates

### Recent Posts

### Posts by Topic

- [Advertising (25)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/advertising)
- [Culture (24)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/culture)
- [Social Media (21)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/social-media)
- [Marketing (20)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/marketing)
- [Inbound Marketing (17)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/inbound-marketing)
- [SEO (13)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/seo)
- [Content Marketing (11)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/content-marketing)
- [Website Design (11)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/website-design)
- [Tech (9)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/tech)
- [Apps (8)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/apps)
- [Featured (7)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/featured)
- [Startups (6)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/startups)
- [Wristband Revolution (6)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/wristband-revolution)
- [Branding (4)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/branding)
- [Creative (4)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/creative)
- [Events (4)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/events)
- [Mobile (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/mobile)
- [Reputation Management (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/reputation-management)
- [Agency Life (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/agency-life)
- [Conversion Rate Optimization (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/conversion-rate-optimization)
- [Email (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/email)
- [Public Relations (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/topic/public-relations)

see all

### Blog Archive

- [June 2014 (24)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/06)
- [October 2014 (17)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/10)
- [May 2014 (16)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/05)
- [April 2013 (14)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/04)
- [September 2014 (13)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/09)
- [February 2015 (11)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2015/02)
- [October 2013 (9)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/10)
- [November 2014 (9)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/11)
- [February 2013 (7)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/02)
- [June 2013 (7)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/06)
- [September 2013 (7)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/09)
- [July 2014 (7)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/07)
- [January 2013 (6)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/01)
- [July 2013 (6)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/07)
- [December 2014 (5)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/12)
- [October 2012 (3)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2012/10)
- [March 2013 (3)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/03)
- [April 2014 (3)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/04)
- [May 2013 (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/05)
- [November 2013 (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/11)
- [February 2014 (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/02)
- [January 2015 (2)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2015/01)
- [December 2012 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2012/12)
- [August 2013 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2013/08)
- [January 2014 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/01)
- [March 2014 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/03)
- [August 2014 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2014/08)
- [March 2015 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2015/03)
- [April 2017 (1)](https://marketing.thedsmgroup.com/blog/archive/2017/04)

see all

### Contact

**Your Company Name, Inc.**  
Street Address  
City, ST 00000  
Call us: 1-800-COMPANY  
(800-000-0000)

### From Our Blog

### Subscribe to Newsletter

### Connect With Us

<https://twitter.com/jasondiller>

© 2026 DSM